Oklahoma Reckless Driving Laws

Conviction of a first offense of reckless driving in Oklahoma carries the potential of both criminal penalties (such as incarceration and fines) and administrative penalties with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (such as license suspension).

Definition of Reckless Driving in Oklahoma

Per Oklahoma Statutes, Title 47, Chapter 9, Article 9, Section 11-901, reckless driving is defined as any operation of a motor vehicle that exhibits reckless, wanton or willful disregard for the safety of other people or their property.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Oklahoma



Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless driving


Incarceration of no less than 5 days but not to exceed 90 days, with fines of no less than $100 but not to exceed $500


License suspension possible, case-specific at discretion of courts

Impact on Your Driver's License

Suspensions for a single offense of reckless driving in Oklahoma are addressed by the courts on a case-specific basis; however, Oklahoma's point system creates the possibility of point-based suspensions for many drivers, regardless of the court's ruling on administrative license suspension. Accumulation of more than 10 points in a 5-year period results in license suspension; however, once breeching the 10-point threshold, drivers are afforded several opportunities to mitigate the number of points on their current licenses while also preventing point-based suspension.

Options for Dealing with a Reckless Driving Charge in Oklahoma

First you must address the pending criminal penalties. In most cases you can negotiate a plea agreement, which reduces the charge to a lesser traffic offense that does not carry the potential of incarceration. Even if you are convicted of reckless driving, sentences are often suspended or probated. However, any attempt to negotiate a favorable plea agreement will require the insight and representation of a lawyer, who will first seek to undermine the prosecution's case while attempting to obtain outright dismissal of the charges.

Secondly you must address any pending administrative penalties, which will likely include either mandatory suspension for the offense or point-based suspension. In either case you may be eligible for a hardship-based license during all or part of your suspension period. If the suspension is solely point-based, you are allowed (as long as you haven't done so in the past 2 years) to attend a pre-approved traffic school in Oklahoma to reduce your point total by 2 points.

When to Get a Lawyer for Reckless Driving in Oklahoma

As mentioned above, the serious nature of the charges, which are criminal charges, should encourage you to consult directly with a lawyer about your legal options, which likely include mounting a criminal defense case with the intention of accepting a favorable plea bargain. Legal counsel not only can address any criminal issues at stake but also can handle the hearing on potential license suspension, as well as address any civil claims that may arise from the reckless driving incident.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you