New Hampshire Reckless Driving Laws

New Hampshire categorizes reckless driving as a traffic crime, which insinuates that defendants in these cases face both criminal penalties as well as the administrative penalties concerning maintaining a valid license with the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles.

Reckless Driving in New Hampshire

Per the Statutes and Administrative Rules of New Hampshire, RSA 626:2, reckless driving is defined as any offense entailing the operation of a motor vehicle in a manner that is reckless, endangers the safety of others, or entails competitive driving or racing.

Reckless Driving Penalties in New Hampshire



Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless Driving


No minimum period of incarceration, but fines of at least $500 for the first offense


Mandatory revocation of license for 60 days for the first offense

Impact on Your Driver's License

If a driver's license suspension is ordered by the courts, administrative license suspension will remain in place for the noted period, and under suspension, New Hampshire does not offer any form of hardship or conditional licensing. However, drivers are afforded ample chances to contest and appeal a pending license suspension, both in the criminal courts, as well as with the Division of Motor Vehicles. If suspension looms due to point-based suspensions, including accumulation of more than 12 points in a single year for drivers over the age of 21, attendance at a traffic school can shave off three points from a license.

Options for Dealing with a Reckless Driving Charge in New Hampshire

The best option for dealing with a reckless driving charge will be in the criminal courts with the representation of a lawyer. Reckless driving charges are highly subjective and often based on lesser, non-criminal traffic violations. For this reason, legal counsel will initially seek outright dismissal of the charges. As a case progresses, drivers will likely cede to a favorable plea agreement, preferably one that reduces the criminal charge into a lesser, non-criminal violation, which prevents license suspension as well.

When to Get a Lawyer for Reckless Driving in New Hampshire

In order to obtain a favorable plea option in a reckless driving case in New Hampshire, or to obtain outright dismissal, a driver should consult with a New Hampshire reckless driving attorney directly about his or her case.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you