Nevada Reckless Driving Laws

The state of Nevada addresses reckless driving offenses as criminal offenses, although the offense entails a traffic violation. In addition to the criminal penalties potentially faced, drivers will face administrative action impacting their license as well, either as ordered by the courts or per the authority of the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.

Reckless Driving in Nevada

The state of Nevada defines reckless driving as any operation of a motor vehicle that exhibits wanton or willful lack of regard for the well-being of other persons or property, which does not cause bodily injury or death. A higher form of reckless driving known as felony reckless driving (as well as manslaughter or vehicular assault or homicide) exists and is defined as reckless driving causing bodily injury or death.

Reckless Driving Penalties in Nevada

Offense/Violation

Classification

Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless driving

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of up to six months, with fines of at least $250, but not to exceed $1,000

8

License suspension at discretion of courts, not to exceed 90 days for first offense, non-work zone conviction

Impact on Your Driver's License

License suspension is possible, pending the decision of the courts. Under Nevada administrative law, accumulation of 12 or more points within a one-year period results in a license suspension. Drivers may also incur point-based suspensions, based on the accumulation of 8 points plus any other outstanding demerit points. It is possible to contest and appeal any pending suspension via a hearing with the Office of Administrative Hearings. Drivers may be eligible to obtain a restricted license once they've served half of their suspension sentence. A final option for mitigating the impact on a driver's license is the use of traffic schools, which is approved by the state for the reduction of points. This option can also be employed as part of a plea agreement with the criminal courts.

Dealing with a Reckless Driving Charge in Nevada

When addressing the criminal components of a reckless driving charge, drivers should utilize legal counsel from the start. Typically, reckless driving charges are highly subjective, and in many cases, defendants can motion the courts successfully for dismissal of charges or reduction of charges into a lesser, non-criminal traffic violation, possibly in the form of a plea bargain. Incarceration rarely occurs in a first offense reckless driving case, but is possible. Through the use of legal counsel, even an unfavorable plea bargain will likely spare a defendant from incarceration, but may entail a lengthy license suspension and fines.

When to Get a Lawyer

To learn more about your reckless driving case in Nevada, including specifically how a Nevada reckless driving lawyer may be able to reduce the criminal charges you face into a non-criminal traffic offense, it is important you consult directly with a Nevada reckless driving lawyer. Aside from the criminal issues at stake, a lawyer can also address the licensing issues presented by the Nevada DMV, as well as take steps to mitigate any fallout from civil claims if they are applicable to your case.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you