Mississippi Reckless Driving Laws

The state of Mississippi recognizes reckless driving offenses as criminal traffic violations. For drivers, this means conviction of reckless driving charges carries the potential of criminal penalties, such as incarceration. It also carries the potential of administrative action by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, such as license suspension.

Defining Reckless Driving in Mississippi

Per the amended version of the Mississippi state code, 63-3-1201, a driver commits the offense of reckless driving when he operates a motor vehicle in a way that shows wanton or willing lack of regard for the well-being of other individuals or property--either public or private.

Reckless Driving Penalties in Mississippi

Offense/Violation

Classification

Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless driving

Misdemeanor

Fines not to exceed $100 for first offense; second offense carries incarceration of not more than 10 days with fines not to exceed $500

No point system in Mississippi

License suspension unlikely first offense, second offense possible suspension by MSDPS

Impact on Your Drivers License

The impact on a driver’s license for reckless driving mainly stems from the potential of suspension should a driver reoffend. However, if the reckless driving charge is in conjunction with other criminal offenses, the impact on a license will increase dramatically, pending the nature of the other offenses.

Options for Dealing with a Reckless Driving Charge in Mississippi

Addressing a reckless driving charge will require the intervention of legal counsel during criminal proceedings. Although reckless driving first offense penalties in Mississippi are some of the lowest in the country, conviction still does create a criminal record. It places the driver in jeopardy for reoffending and being hit with higher penalties. For the most part, the options for addressing the criminal case will include seeking outright dismissal of the reckless driving charge, which often culminates in a plea deal involving pleading guilty to a non-criminal traffic violation, payment of those fines, and no interference on a driver’s license.

When to Get a Lawyer

To learn more about Mississippi reckless driving laws, including how your specific criminal case may be resolved via a favorable plea option following the intervention of a Mississippi reckless driving lawyer, consult with one directly.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you