Drivers License Revoked for Multiple Offenses

Across the United States there are many different ways to end up with a revoked drivers license. The most common ways to have your license suspended is either for too many multiple moving violations within a specific period of time or as a one of many punishments for a crime, such as DUI.

Revoked and Suspended

Often the words revoked and suspended are used interchangeably when it comes to a drivers license, although in some states which use both words, having your license revoked is more serious that having it suspended. Usually it takes more to reinstate a revoked license than a suspended license:

  • There can be higher reinstatement fees for a revoked license
  • Drivers with revoked licenses may have to re-take written or road tests to reinstate their licenses
  • In some states, the end of a suspension can mean automatic renewal of driving privileges

Multiple Offenses

Most states utilize a points system that keeps track of a variety of different moving violations on your driving record, assigning a different "point value" to each offense. The higher the point value, the more serious the violation is.

  • Once a specified threshold of points has been reached within a particular period of time penalties begin.
  • The period of time varies by state, but all states count the time from the date of the violation, not the date of the conviction for the violation.
  • Points accumulation is reported to the auto insurance companies, with points often resulting in increased premiums.
  • License suspensions are a common penalty for points accrual.
  • Usually when your license has been revoked or suspended for points, you have committed multiple offenses.

Some states offer driver education and safety programs to their drivers which can reduce the number of points on their license or driving record.

Example

Pennsylvania has an interesting points system, with tiered penalties based on points and even the age of the driver:

  • If a driver under the age of 18 accumulates 6 points, their license is suspended for 90 days, and any additional violation convictions that result in points will result in a 120 day suspension.
  • The first time a driver over 18 gets to 6 points, they have to take and pass a written driving test within 30 days. If they are unable to pass the test within 30 days, then their license will be suspended untl they can pass the test.
  • When a driver accumulates 11 or more points they face an automatic suspension equal to 5 days per point accumulated for the first time they reach 11 points or more.
  • Drivers who have "achieved" the 11 point threshold four or more times will have their license suspended for a year.

In Georgia, if you get convicted of an offense that carries a mandatory license suspension three times in a five year period, you will have your license revoked for 5 years.

Get Legal Help

Any moving violation on your driving record can have serious consequences if it can lead to higher insurance premiums and a suspension of your license. Always contact an attorney to defend you against a moving violation; some states allow certain violation to be pleaddown to lesser offenses. An attorney who specializes in traffic law can explain your options and help protect your driving privileges.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you