A commercial driver license (CDL) is a specific type of license. It allows the holder to operate vehicles of a certain type. With this license come certain responsibilities. These include the following of traffic laws. In fact, due to the nature of the vehicles they drive, CDL holders are held to stricter standards. This is true whether the issue concerns failure to stop, reckless driving, improper lane changes or driving while under the influence (DUI). The violations may be the same as for someone with a regular driver's license, but the penalties are stiffer. In Wyoming, failure to follow the traffic rules may result in the loss of your CDL for life.
A moving violation occurs when a vehicle breaks the law while in motion. These are the most common type of infractions committed by drivers, including those with a CDL. In Wyoming, a CDL holder is faced with the following results for failing to follow the law.
Fine: Maximum $200
License Suspension: 1 year with four convictions, otherwise 90-day suspension
Jail: On record for 3 years
License Suspension: Possible after second violation
Fine: $100 to $750
License Suspension: Possible 1 year if not first conviction
Fine: $200 - $500
License Suspension: Yes
Jail: 30 days to 6 months
The above penalties increase if a fatality, injury or serious property damage result from the offense. Other aggravating factors are the result of frequency since Wyoming, unlike many other states, does not currently employ a point system. Its approach is similar and simple. If anyone holding a CDL has four violations resulting in convictions within a period of 12 months, he or she automatically loses their CDL. Furthermore, if the CDL holder has a second serious offense, he or she will be disqualified from holding a CDL for a year. This term will stretch to three years if the driver was hauling hazardous materials at the time.
Certain violations apply only to CDL holders. In Wyoming, this includes over-weight issues, logbook violations, towing infringements, and violations of both grade restrictions and lane changes. Speeding while towing results in a maximum fine of $300 and possible license suspension. The exact amount depends upon different variables:
The other CDL specific violations may incur harsh penalties.
In specific instances, these CDL specific violations can result in a lifetime disqualification from a CDL.
No alcohol or other controlled substance is allowed while a truck driver is on duty. In Wyoming, a first offense with 0.04 results in a fine of $750. The license is suspended for one year. If the driver was pulling hazardous materials, suspension can last for three years. In both cases, jail time is possible for up to six months. If this is a second offense, the CDL holder faces a lifetime suspension.
A DUI is a serious affair. Holding a CDL license while driving drunk off duty will still negatively impact your right to drive. The lengthy suspension can still occur since you possess a CDL license.
If you have a CDL in Wyoming, the result of a conviction can be devastating. It can result in:
This holds true for a driver whether he or she receives the ticket inside or outside the state. Depending upon the regulations, if you have your license revoked in one state it is applicable across the country.
It is critical that you talk to an attorney. Once you are convicted of a traffic violation, it may be too late. In Wyoming, a knowledgeable lawyer can help you prepare a skilled defense. This may involve a conditional discharge, appeal to another court or a technicality.
It is also possible to have a Trial Declaration (affidavit) in Wyoming. This defense takes the form of a letter concerning the case written by the defendant and given directly to the judge. You will need the help of an attorney to ensure this measure is the best route for you to take.