Those with a commercial driver's license are permitted to drive larger commercial vehicles or to transport a larger number of passengers. Because there is more risk associated with driving large vehicles or many passengers, you must meet stringent requirements to obtain a CDL. You are also held to a higher standard of care than the average driver on the road. As a result traffic violations can bring more consequences than just a regular ticket. You may even lose the commercial license.
Connecticut expects you to obey the rules of the road. If you don't, you may face penalties, up to and including the loss of your license.
Serious traffic violations in Connecticut are defined as driving more than 15 miles over the posted speed limit, driving recklessly, changing lanes erratically and following the vehicle ahead too closely. Driving a CMV without actually having your CDL in your possession is also considered a serious traffic violation, though if you show proof by the court or fine date that you did indeed possess the proper license at the time the citation was given, you will not be found guilty.
If a driver commits 2 serious traffic violations while driving any motor vehicle in a 3-year period, the CDL license will be disqualified for at least 60 days. If 3 or more violations occur within a 3-year period, the license will be disqualified for at least 120 days.
Because of the Interstate Driver's License Compact, through which almost all states in the U.S. share information about driver's license violations and suspensions, out-of-state tickets or out-of-state license suspensions also affect your CDL.
Some violations that do not apply to general drivers will affect holders of commercial driver's licenses. While the vast majority of the laws directly related to commercial drivers have been made on the federal level, these laws do apply to all Connecticut-based CDL holders. These laws include the following:
DUI charges are also going to have a major impact on your CDL:
Under the laws of Connecticut, if your driver’s license to operate a personal vehicle is revoked, canceled or suspended, your CDL will also be revoked. You are not permitted to obtain a hardship license to drive a CMV in Connecticut.
If you are charged with a CDL violation, your driver's license--and ability to make a living--is at risk. Consult with an attorney as soon as possible to explore any possible defenses that might exist. Your lawyer can help you identify any improprieties with your citation or arrest and assist you in raising a defense or exploring possible plea options.