Penalties for impeding traffic Texas can be far reaching due to the point system that they utilize. Texas, like any other state, levies fines on people who impede traffic by driving too slowly and thereby creating hazardous conditions for other drivers. In Texas, however, impeding traffic is considered a moving violation with many penalties associated with it.
As per the statutes of the state of Texas, fines levied can be anything between $1 to $200. If you are late in making this payment, additional fees will be charged as a late fee penalty.
The violation bears a penalty of 2 points added to your license. Keep in mind that Texas also levies surcharges on people who earn 6 or more points in a span of 3 years. It is best to consult with a lawyer to contest the charge and the point penalty associated with it or you might end up paying penalty charges over the period of a few years.
You might also be required to attend driving school if caught impeding traffic. You can, however, agree to this and try to eradicate the violation off your record. Repeat offenders who have recorded 4 violations in a period of 1 year may stand to be penalized by have their driver’s license suspended or their driver’s license may be revoked outright. While the penalties seem to be harsh, the violations remain on your record only for a period of 5 years.
If slow driving and impeding traffic has resulted in any sort of disturbance or accident then chances are that your penalties will be in proportion or follow suit.