What is the maximum charge in Idaho for driving without privileges?
A common question posed to Idaho moving violations lawyers includes “What is the maximum charge in Idaho for a driving without priviledges?” According to Idaho Code Title 18 Chapter 80, conviction of a driving without privileges charge in Idaho is a misdemeanor offense, carrying the following penalties upon conviction, including:
- First offense conviction carry mandatory incarceration of at least two (2) days, but not more than six (6) months, which upon discretion of the courts, may be served out via a community service program with the county sheriff’s office in a limited number of circumstances. Additionally, upon the court’s discretion, offenders may incur penalties of fines not more than $1,000 and license suspension of six (6) months commencing the end of any outstanding suspension. These penalties, upon the discretion of the court, may be applied in addition to or in lieu of incarceration related penalties.
- Second offense convictions, without a period of five (5) years from first offense, carry penalties of at least twenty (20) days in jail with possibility of up to one (1) year. At the court’s discretion, a judge may mandate an alternative sentence in lieu of incarceration, if the driving without privileges charge is not related to certain other criminal offenses. Additional penalties, which at the discretion of the judge may be applied in addition to or in lieu of incarceration or community service, include fines of not more than $1,000 and license suspension of one (1) year additional to any outstanding suspensions.
For more information and insight into your specific pending moving violations case involving driving without privileges in Idaho, it is important to consult with an Idaho moving violations lawyer directly about your case.