Unsafe Start from Parked, Stopped or Standing Position

Related Ads

Talk to a Traffic Violation Lawyer Near You

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

An unsafe start from a parked, stopped, or standing position occurs when a motorist burns out from a complete stop, screeches their tires from a stopped position, performs donuts in a parking lot, accelerates in speed too quickly but is not necessarily speeding or pulls out from a parking spot without checking for oncoming traffic. This law falls under the drag racing category, which can occur without necessarily speeding, since two vehicles can race from a stopped point and never reach illegal speeds.

Fines and Penalties

For the most part, the fines for an unsafe start from parked, stopped, or standing position will range from $150-$220 depending on the state the motorist committed the violation in and the situation surrounding the violation. Offenders of this violation should also expect to receive points on their driver’s license once the ticket is issued and the conviction is pushed through after the ticket is paid, if the driver pleads guilty to the offense, or if the judge in the court case rules in favor of the ticket.

Unsafe Start Points and Impact on Driving Record / License

Committing an unsafe start from parked, stopped, or standing position is a moving violation, which comes with two points on the driver’s license. These points will remain active on the license for three years but will not come off the license until the fourth year. When points are added to a driver’s license, the driver’s insurance company is privy to this information. The insurance company, after reviewing the information, will then make a decision as to raise the rates of the driver or keep them the same. The rates might rise because the insurance company could deem the driver unsafe or consider him or her a liability to insure because they are dangerous to others on the road.

State Fines and Penalties

Choose the first letter of your State

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
State Avg. Fines Points Traffic School License Suspension Rate Jail
Alabama Up to $500 depending on excess of speeding. 2 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. No, but judge and case specific circumstances allow for traffic school as means of dismissing ticket Case Specific Exluded from point count after two (2) years, unstated officially regarding driving record, but typically, never more than three (3) years
Alaska Up to $300 Three to nine MPH over speed limit is 2 points, ten to nineteen is 4, twenty and over is 6, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, more than 6 points in a year for provision license holders. Traffic school can be used once annually to reduce overall point total Two (2) suspensions based on points in two (2) years Point accumulating offenses on driving record for five (5) years
Arizona Up to $250 3 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Not required, but voluntary attendance will dismiss ticket and avoid being placed on driving record Case Specific Point accumulating offenses on driving record for five (5) years
Arkansas First offense up to $100, second up to $200, subsequent up to $500. 3-6 points depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Case specific, but potentially required License revocation on case specific basis Point accumulating offenses on driving record up to five (5) years
California First offense up to $100, second up to $200, subsequent up to $250. 1 point, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, case specific, but one offense per eighteen months may be masked from public view if completing traffic school License suspension reinstatement automatically requires adminstrative hearing One (1) point offenses remain on record for three (3) years, two (2) point offenses remain on record for seven (7) years
Colorado $15-$100 Five to nine MPH over speed limit is 1 point, ten to nineteen is 4 points, twenty to thirty-nine is 6 points, forty and over is 12 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, case specific, but will not dimiss points from record Hearing required to determine on case specific basis, 12 points accumulated equals mandatory suspension Point accumulating offenses on driving record no less than seven (7) years
Connecticut Up to $50 1 point, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. May be required by clerk, dismissal of fines or points possible through clerk approved traffic school arrangement Ten (10) points accrued result in suspension, revocation case specific pending hearing Points remain on driver record for two (2) years
Delaware First offense $25-$115, subsequent offenses $57.50 to $230. One to nine MPH over speed limit is 2 points, ten to fourteen is 4 points, fifteen and over is 5 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, case specific and required, may be used to reduce overall point count Accumulation of fourteen (14) points means mandatory suspension for four (4) months Points offenses remain on record at least three (3) years and up to more than five (5) pending offense
DC Case specific Sixteen and over is 4 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, may be required, and can be used as means of reducing point total 10 points accumulated requires 90-day suspension, 12 point accumulation requires revocation needing official reinstatement Points remain on driver's record for two (2) years
Florida $25-$250 One to fifteen MPH over speed limit is 4 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, and basic driver improvement courses are option for dimissing points Twelve (12) points in one (1) year requires mandatory suspension, revocation is case specific and determined by hearing Offenses resulting in points kept on driving record for seven (7) years
Georgia $25-$500 depending on excess of speeding. Fifteen to nineteen MPH over speed limit is 2 points, nineteen to twenty-four is 3 points, twenty-four to thirty-four is 4 points, thiry-four and over is 6 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, and potentially used for one violation reduction every five (5) years Accumulation of fifteen (15) points in two years results in suspension Offenses resulting in points kept on driving record for seven (7) years
Hawaii Officer discretion Point system not applicable in state, insurance rates may increase depending on severity of violation. Yes, may be mandated in event of serious offenses Case specific Offenses may remain on traffic abstract for no more than ten (10) years
Idaho Up to $100 4 points depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, once every three (3) years, drivers may reduce point total by three points Risk of suspension after 11 points in one (1) year or 17 points in two (2) years Point accumulating offenses on driving record for three (3) years
Illinois First and second offenses up to $1,000, subsequent up to $1,500, speeding 40 MPH over limit can be up to $2,500. One to ten MPH over speed limit is 5 points, eleven to fourteen is 15 points, fifteen to twenty-five is 20 points, twenty-five and over is 50 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, required for some offenses, can be used as means of dismissing points in lieu of license suspension Mandatory suspension for accumulation of 15 points, revocations begin at 110 points Point accumulating offenses remain on record four (4) to five (5) years
Indiana Up to $1,000 One to fifteen MPH over speed limit is 2 points, sixteen to twenty-five is 4 points, twenty-six and over is 6 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, driver safety program required in case specific situations and in lieu of point total nearing suspension levels Suspension based on hearing if driver accrues more than 18 points in two (2) years Point accumulating offenses remain on record for two (2) years
Iowa $50-$500 None, violation may increase insurance premium rates though Yes, courts may require driver improvement program Suspension required if three (3) or more violations assessed in one (1) year period Point and other violations remain on record for at least five (5) years
Kansas Up to $500 No point system in state, violation may raise insurance premiums rates. Yes, may be required, and may be done every three (3) years to garner better insurance premiums Conviction of three (3) moving violations in one (1) year risks license suspension Violation convictions on record up to five (5) years
Kentucky Up to $100 3-6 points depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, can elect to attend once per year if eligible to dismiss violation for given offense causing attendance Suspension hearing required if accumualted more than twelve (12) points in two (2) year period Points expire after two (2) years, but remain on driver record for five (5) years
Louisiana First offense up to $175, subsequent up to $500. No point system, reported to PDPS, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, may be required, and can be used to suspend conviction of violation Specific violations result in suspension, including the vague wording of "excessive violations", number not noted Less than ten (10) years convictions remain on driving record
Maine $25-$500 One to fifteen MPH over speed limit is 4 points, fifteen and over is 6 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, may be mandated, can be used to dimiss three (3) demerit points per one (1) year period License suspension for fifteen (15) days required for persons with more than 12 demerit points in 12 month period Violations remain on driving record for three (3) years up to no more than ten (10) years
Maryland Up to $500 One to nine MPH over speed limit is 1 point, ten to nineteen is 2, twenty and over is 5 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. None License revoked for drivers with 12 points (19 if driver using vehicle for employment) in two (2) years Violations expunged from driving record every three (3) year cycle
Massachusetts At least $50 and up to $10 more for each MPH over speed limit. 2 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, required if driver accumulates five (5) surchargeable events in three (3) years License suspensions begin with three (3) speeding violations being recorded in a one (1) year period All driving records remain in affect from "mid-eighties" to present
Michigan Up to $100 One to ten MPH over speed limit is 2 points, eleven to fifteen is 3 points, sixteen and over is 4 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, potentially mandated Accrual of 12 points on two (1) year period subject driver to license suspension of not more than one (1) year Points remain on driving record ever more than ten (10) years, affecting insurance rates for about three (3) years
Minnesota Up to $1,000 None, violations may increase insurance premium rates though Yes, courts may require driver imporvement course in lieu of or on top of existing offenses Conviction of three (3) offenses in one (1) year results in license suspension, length determined via hearing Offense counts ended on yearly cycle
Mississippi First offense up to $100, second up to $200, subsequent up to $500. No point system in state, violations may increase insurance premium rates though. Yes, potentially mandated, but can be used to dimiss offenses Suspension or revocation at discretion of licensing agency Offenses maintained on active record for more than four (4) years
Missouri Up to $1,000 2-3 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, either mandated or voluntarily undergone to reduce point total Driver subject to suspension for accumulation of more than 8 points in eighteen (18) months Moving violations maintained on record up to three (3) years, suspension on record for five (5) years
Montana First offense $10-$100, second offense $25-$200, subsequent $50-$500. 3 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, potentially mandated as sanction, but will not reduce or dismiss points Accrual of 6 points in eighteen (18) months makes driver subject to sanctions, but accrual of 15 points in thirty-six (36) months mandates suspension Points applied to record for three (3) years, but traffic violations remain in state database permanently
Nebraska $10-$200 depending on excess in speeding. 1-4 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, possibly mandated as sanction, but also, can be used to remove 2 points every five (5) years Accumulation of 12 points in two (2) years immediately revokes license for six (6) months Driver's record viewed as public record, and infractions remain visible indefinitely
Nevada Up to $1,000 1-5 points depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, potentially required, but also, can be used once per one (1) year period to reduce points voluntarily Accrual of 12 points in twelve (12) months results in six (6) month license suspension Driver records maintained for three (3) years for private individuals, longer for commercial drivers
New Hampshire Up to $1,000 Twenty-five MPH over speed limit is 4 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, required in some instances and as possible means of reducing points Accrual of 12 points in twelve (12) months results in three (3) month license suspension Points remain on driving record for three (3) years using Jan.1 as effective start date of three year period
New Jersey $50-$200 One to fourteen MPH over speed limit is 2 points, fifteen to twenty-nine is 4 points, thirty and over is 5 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, case pending may be required, otherwise can be used to remove 2 points from record Accrual of 12 points in two (2) year period requires 30 day suspension of license Driver history abstract available in complete form or within five (5) year period
New Mexico $15-$200 Six to fifteen MPH over speed limit is 3 points, sixteen to twenty-five is 5 points, twenty-six and over is 8 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, may be mandated or voluntarily undergone for points reduction Accumulation of 7 to 10 points in one (1) year may result in three (3) month suspension, pending hearing  
New York $45-$150 One to ten MPH over speed limit is 3 points, eleven to twenty is 4 points, twenty-one to thirty is 6 points, thirty-one to forty is 8 points, and forty-one and over is 11 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, potentially required in specific cases, and may be used to remove up to 4 points in some cases Accumulation of 11 points in eighteen (18) month period results in one (1) month license suspension Driving record points may be removed no later than four (4) years from offense, but potetnial to view last ten (10) years of record available
North Carolina Up to $1,000 Speeding in excess of 55 MPH or speeding in school zone, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, driver improvement clinics may be mandated, and can be used once every five (5) years for 3 point reduction Accumulation of more than 12 points in three (3) years makes license subject to suspension Driving record points counted against driver for up to three (3) years, and violations on record available for viewing up to seven (7) years
North Dakota $5-$170 Sixteen to twenty MPH over speed limit is 3 points, thiry-five and over is 15 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, and driver may elect to undergo driver improvement course once annually to reduce by 2 points Every point accumulated above 11 points requires seven (7) day license suspension Violations older than three (3) years do not remain on driving record
Ohio None 2-4 points depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, remedial dirving instruction may be legally required to reinstate driving priviledges Accumulation of more than 12 points in two (2) years makes drivers subject to six (6) month suspension Violtaions older than three (3) years are not included in current driving record
Oklahoma $5-$500 Up to twenty-five MPH over the speed limit is 2 points, over twenty-five is 3 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, potentially mandated, but also can be used to reduce 2 points Accumulation of more than 10 points subjects driver to license suspension of one (1) month Offenses in last three (3) years are recorded on driving records
Oregon $75-$600 No point system, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, if mandated, but not possible to reduce offense total Conviction of four (4) offenses in eighteen (18) month period requires hearing with driver improvement interview Offenses and convictions for traffic violations remain on record more than five (5) years
Pennsylvania $35-$42.50 2-5 points depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, if mandated as sanction, but not means of reducing violation or dismissing points Accumulation of more than 6 points requires examination, accumulation of 6 more points requires hearing of potential suspension Violations remain on record for three (3) years, and for employment checks only, ten (10) year records can be obtained
Rhode Island Case specific No point system, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, if mandated by licensing authority Incurring three or more major violations in three year period results in one to five year suspension of license Records of violations and offenses kept for three (3) years
South Carolina Up to $100 One to ten MPH over speed limit is 2 points, eleven to twenty-five is 4 points,twenty-six and over is 6 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, potentially mandated and means of removing 4 points Accumulation of 12 points in twelve months results in suspension, points older than one (1) year counted at half value Driving records are available in three (3) and ten (10) year increments
South Dakota Up to $200 At least 2 points at officer discretion, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. No Accumulating 15 more points in one (1) year, or 22 points in two (2) year period results in suspension of 60 days Driving records of offenses and violations maintained indefintitely, points remain on record for three (3) years
Tennessee Up to $50 One to five MPH over the speed limit is 1 point, six to fifteen is 3 points, sixteen to twenty-five is 4 points, twenty-six to thirty-five is 5 points, thirty-six to forty-five is 6 points, forty-six and over is 8 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, may be mandated, and drivers may reduce points through course once every five (5) years Accumulation of more than 12 points in one (1) year period results in license suspension Driving records maintained for three (3) years
Texas $1-$200 2 points, violations may increase insurance premium rates. Yes, potentially required, and may be used to dismiss violation Incurring four (4) or more violations in one (1) year runs risk of suspension Driving record offenses and violations remain on record for no more than five (5) years
Utah Up to $750 35-75 depending on MPH over speed limit, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, possibly court mandated, and if necessary, can be used once every three (3) years to remove 50 points Accumulating more than 200 points on license, if over 21 years old, in three (3) year period results in mandatory suspension of three (3) months Moving violations remain on driving record for three (3) years
Vermont Up to $1,000 2-8 points depending on MPH over speed limit, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, possibly required as part of license reinstatement Incuring 10 or more points in two (2) year period results in license suspension Violations remain on record for no more than three (3) years
Virginia First offense up to $100, second up to $200, subsequent up to $500. One to nine MPH over speed limit is 3 points, ten to nineteen is 4 points, twenty and over is 6 points, expect possible negligent premium increase based on severity of violation. Yes, driver improvement clinic may be required, and possibly used to offset 5 demerit points Accumulating more than 18 points in one (1) year, or more than 24 points in two (2) years results in license suspension Moving violations remain on driving record for three (3) years and speeding violations remain on record for five (5) years in state
Washington Up to $250 No point system, violations may increase insurance premium rates though. Yes, potentially required by court authority Accruing four (4) offenses in one (1) year or five (5) offenses in two (2) years leaves potential for authority to suspend license as desired Moving violations and accidents remain on driving record for five (5) years
West Virginia First offense up to $100, second up to $200, subsequent up to $500. Five to nine MPH over speed limit is 2 points, ten to fouteen is 3 points, fifteen and over is 5 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, drivers may be legally bound to attend, and attendance may reduce points as well Accumulating more than 12 points results in license suspension for no more than one (1) year at discretion of authority  
Wisconsin First offense $40-$300, subsequent $80-$600. One to ten MPH over speed limit is 3 points, eleven to nineteen is 4 points, twenty and over is 6 points, insurance premiums may increase based on severity of violation. Yes, sometimes required, but voluntarily taken can reduce points by 3 every five (5) years Incurring 12 or more points in one (1) year makes driver subject to suspension at discretion of authority Violations, suspensions, and revocations remain on record for five (5) years from date of conviction
Wyoming $10-$100 No point system, violations may increase insurance premium rates though. No Conviction of four (4) violations in one (1) year period results in 90 day suspension Violations remain on driver's record for no more than three (3) years

Hiring a Lawyer

If you or a loved one has been issued a traffic ticket for unsafe start from parked, stopped, or standing position, contact an experience traffic tickets attorney immediately for expert legal counsel regarding your case today. The attorney will investigate the scenario you were involved in, examine your prior driving record, and then determine the best defense to have the ticket thrown out in a court of law.

LA-NOLO1:DRU.1.6.2.20140813.27175