Kansas Reckless Driving Laws

Related Ads

Talk to a Traffic Violation Lawyer Near You

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

The state of Kansas treats reckless driving as a criminal traffic violation, which incurs both criminal penalties and administrative action, pending the specific nature of each case.

Defining Reckless Driving in Kansas

Chapter 8 Article 15 Section 66 of the Kansas Statutes defines reckless driving as operating a motor vehicle in a manner that exhibits willing disregard for the rights and safety of other drivers, passengers or pedestrians, as well as their property or public property.

Reckless Driving Penalties in Kansas

Offense/Violation

Classification

Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless Driving

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of 5 to 90 days, with fines ranging from $25 to not more than $500

No point system in KS, incurs one moving violation on record, plus criminal conviction

Conviction results in potential for immediate license suspension for a case-specific length of time

Impact on Your Driver's License

Reckless driving convictions are subject to immediate license suspension, initially at the discretion of the courts, and later, at the discretion of the Department of Revenue via the Division of Motor Vehicles. For suspended drivers, Kansas does not allow hardship-based licensing during suspension periods. Kansas does not utilize a point system, but accumulating three moving violations within a one-year period results in administrative action, requiring a hearing concerning the future a driver's license.

Dealing with a Reckless Driving Charge in Kansas

Addressing a reckless driving charge, including both the criminal and administrative fallout, will require first using legal counsel to address the pending criminal charges. In most cases, in light of the vague nature of the law when coupled with better-defined non-criminal traffic offenses, drivers can obtain a favorable plea option involving a reduction of their charges to a lesser traffic offense or outright dismissal. Even if convicted, drivers rarely serve the mandated periods of incarceration through favorable sentencing agreements, often entailing driver rehabilitation and probation periods. However, obtaining these favorable types of resolutions will require legal counsel.

When to Get a Lawyer

A driver should consult with a Kansas reckless driving lawyer immediately following arrest or receipt of a summons to appear in court for reckless driving. This is especially true if the reckless driving charge is in conjunction with other criminal charges or was issued incident to an accident. For more information and insight into your specific reckless driving case, consult with a Kansas reckless driving lawyer to learn more.

LA-NOLO3:DRU.1.6.3.6.20141124.29342