Arkansas Reckless Driving Laws

Related Ads

Talk to a Traffic Violation Lawyer Near You

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

Arkansas addresses reckless driving as a criminal offense, which upon conviction forces a driver to face both criminal and administrative licensing penalties.

Defining Reckless Driving in Arkansas

Arkansas state code, under Title 27 Subtitle 4 Chapter 50 Subchapter 3, defines reckless driving as a criminal driving offense entailing any operation of a motor vehicle that exhibits intentional lack of care for the well-being of other individuals or their property.

Reckless Driving Penalties in Arkansas

Offense/Violation

Classification

Criminal Penalties

Points Applied to License

Other Administrative Penalties

Reckless driving

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of at least 5 days, but not more than 90 days, with fines of at least $25, but not to exceed $500

8

Possible automatic license suspension, per court's discretion, then discretion of ODS

Reckless driving, causing physical injury

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of 30 to 90 days, with fines between $100 and $1,000

8

Probable automatic license suspension, per court's discretion, then discretion of ODS

Reckless driving, subsequent offense within three years

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of at least 30 days, but not more than 6 months, with fines between $500 and $1,000

8

Probable automatic license suspension, per court's discretion, then discretion of ODS probable

Reckless driving, causing physical injury, subsequent offense within three years

Misdemeanor

Incarceration of at least 60 days, but not more than one year, with fines betwee $500 and $1,000

8

Probable automatic license suspension, per court's discretion, then discretion of ODS

Impact on Your Driver's License

Reckless driving is defined by Arkansas' ODS as a serious offense, sufficient to warrant immediate license suspension. The criminal courts may intervene first and dictate a period of license suspension, but if not, drivers still face the possibility of administrative license action by ODS. Likewise, incurring an eight-point violation can put drivers in jeopardy of points-based suspension as well in Arkansas. Point-based suspensions of three months occur when a driver accumulates more than 14 active points on his or her license. It is possible to prevent suspension via a successful administrative hearing, but such outcomes only are decided on a case-specific basis.

Dealing with a Reckless Driving Charge in Arkansas

Addressing a reckless driving charge will require the representation of a lawyer to handle the pending criminal aspects. The nature of the law, which is relatively vague, ensures that most drivers have viable grounds for some form of defense. Ultimately, if this defense does not lead to dismissal, plea options such as reducing the criminal charge into a non-criminal traffic violation are possible.

When to Get a Lawyer

Given the criminal nature of the charges faced in a reckless driving case, a driver should immediately consult with a reckless driving lawyer to discern what their specific legal rights may be. Contact an Arkansas reckless driving lawyer to hear more about your specific case, as well as to begin preparing a viable criminal defense strategy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LA-NOLO5:DRU.1.6.5.20141029.29183