Arizona Driving Violations

Related Ads

Talk to a Traffic Violation Lawyer Near You

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

Each state possesses some method of tracking driving violations by drivers. In almost all states, accumulation of a given number of offenses, which are dictated by each state driving violations laws, can result in license suspension or revocation. The state of Arizona is no exception. In the state of Arizona, drivers that accumulate eight (8) or more points on their license in a one (1) year period face mandatory Traffic Survival School, or face one (1) year of license suspension. Additionally, in the state of Arizona, certain offenses immediately warrant the suspension or revocation of license privileges, such as aggressive driving, racing, or driving under the influence, as well as many others.

Arizona Traffic Point System

Each traffic violation in the state of Arizona includes fines, fees, and costs to be paid by the driver, but also, each offense places points on a driver’s license. Accumulation of points results in mandatory Traffic Survival School or license suspension. Each offense carries a differing number of points, which vary based on the severity of the offense. In theory, accumulation of eight (8) or more points in twelve (12) month period mandates attendance at traffic school. However, certain offenses, such as reckless driving and driving under the influence, carry sufficient number of points to warrant an immediate suspension of license and mandatory traffic school for just the single offense. Additionally, the accumulation of points on a license will result in further increases in insurance coverage premiums carried by drivers.

Arizona State Fines and Penalties

Traffic Violations Fine Amounts Points Traffic School Jail License Suspension?
Aggressive Driving No more than $2500 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Arresting officer and court discretion, no more than six months Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Driving Under Influence - DUI Not less than $1250 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Offender will face jail sentence no more than one year and not less than ten days, length at court's discretion Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Driving While Imparied - DWI Not less than $1250 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Offender will face jail sentence no more than one year and not less than ten days, length at court's discretion Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Driving With License Suspended At least $300 for first time offender 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Class 1 misdemeanor, no more than six (6) months Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Driving Without Headlights Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Exhibition of Speed At least $300 for first time offender, plus court costs 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Failure to Yield Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Failure to Signal Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Failure to Stop Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Hit and Run Not more than $750, plus damages 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Class 2 misdemeanor, no more than four (4) months Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Illegal Passing Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Illegal u-turn Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Intoxication Manslaughter At discretion of courts 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension At the discretion of the courts, but if convicted, incarceration is likely Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
No Drivers License At least $300 for first time offender 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Class 1 misdemeanor, no more than six (6) months Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Running a Red Light Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Running Stop Sign Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Reckless Driving Not more than $750, plus damages 8 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Class 2 misdemeanor, no more than four (4) months Yes, automatic given offense and point total for offense
Speeding in School Zone Officer discretion 3 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period
Unsafe Lane Change Officer discretion 2 Accumulate eight (8) or more points in a twelve (12) month period and traffic survival school (TSS) is required in lieu of one (1) year license suspension Not applicable to single violation Not, not for single offense, but potentially with accrual of eight or more points in a twelve month period

What to Expect in an Arizona Traffic Court

Essentially, traffic courts function to service municipal areas regarding traffic violation citations. When an individual driver pays a fine or fee via mail, online, or through the phone, they plead guilty to the charge noted on the citation and pay the fine. Depending on the charge, points will still accumulate on one’s license. However, if a driver desires to contest a traffic citation, they must show up to their scheduled hearing date in front of the courts. Failure to pay the fine and failure to appear will result in further penalties, both financial and potentially regarding one’s license status. In cases where individuals want to contest a traffic citation, there is usually a risk of losing one’s license due to conviction, either based on the charge or the point total. Consulting with an attorney and contesting the charge in courts may reduce the total amount of points one faces, via approval to attend traffic school, or dismissal of the ticket. Each case and violation is unique, therefore, having an attorney review your case is especially helpful. Some links to procedures, policies, and the points system in the state of Arizona include:

Arizona Driving Violations Legal Help from a Lawyer

Having an attorney represent your case in traffic court is one way of increasing your potential chances for a favorable outcome. Not only can attorney work to dismiss your tickets, but also, they can assist you in reinstating suspended licenses, gaining hardship licenses, reducing your overall point total, and preventing longer-term revocation of your driving privileges. Additionally, an attorney can assist individuals facing heavy fines by petitioning the courts to reduce the overall fine amount or arrange repayment planning for individuals.

LA-NOLO6:DRU.1.6.3.6.20141124.29342