South Dakota CDL Traffic Violations: Commercial License Issues
Talk to a Traffic Violation Lawyer Near You
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
When you are getting a CDL in South Dakota, you need to be aware that there are different laws that are applied to you as a driver of a commercial vehicle. There are a number of different rules and laws you need to follow, as well as getting the right classification for your license to be able to drive the cargo you are looking to transport.
CDL Laws and Licensing
In South Dakota there are specific requirements that are necessary to be met in order to get your commercial license. You need to be at least 21 years old and have a minimum of 20/40 vision. You cannot be colorblind, and you need to have at least 70 percent peripheral vision. You may get a CDL at the age of 18 as long as you do not drive out of state and are not transporting hazardous materials. You will need to make sure you have the right endorsements in order to drive certain materials and certain types of vehicles in South Dakota.
CDL Moving Violations in South Dakota
There are various violations and punishments you can receive in South Dakota for speeding and improper stopping with a CDL. Depending on the violation and where it occurs, you will receive points on your CDL license. This is true for violations such as running red lights and stop signs. The point system is what allows people to keep their licenses in South Dakota. A stop sign violation carries a 3-point penalty and can be up to a $200 fine. If you accumulate 12 points or more in one year in South Dakota, you will face a license suspension.
Specific CDL Violations in South Dakota
Whether you are having issues with your logbook, your truck is overweight or you are facing grade violations, you will need to answer to the specific jurisdiction in South Dakota in regard to fines and fees you will be required to pay. The weight limits are based on the size of the tires as well as the number of axles that are on the truck. There are also varying fines based on trailer sizes as well as ensuring the cargo being carried is something you are licensed to haul. You need to be aware of what is required based on the city as well as what type of grades are faced, and load limits for the streets in the area you are traveling through.
CDL and DUI in South Dakota
If you are caught driving under the influence with your commercial driver's license in South Dakota, the rules are more strict than the ones you will face if you were to drive a traditional vehicle. If you are convicted of DUI in South Dakota while driving a commercial vehicle, you will lose your CDL for one year. This is if you have a blood alcohol content of .04, which is half of the .08 for a non-commercial driver. If convicted a second time, you will lose your license for a year. This is in addition to the fines and other penalties you will face. These include having a misdemeanor on your record as well as possible jail time. If convicted of a DUI in another state while holding a South Dakota CDL, you will have your license suspended for a year as well.
Hire an Attorney
The best thing you can do is to hire an attorney to represent you. They will be able to get you the best sentence and reduction in charges. They will also advise you in how to plead as far as guilty or not guilty, and may be able to negotiate a plea deal for you depending on the charge.